Library Cards

1. Library membership is free to all residents of Hardeman County.

2.  Library cards are issued to users 18 and older with a photo ID such as a Hardeman County address on a current Texas Driver’s License or Texas ID card.

3. Library cards are issued to children between the ages of 3 and 17 with their parent’s or guardian’s signature. The responsible adult must show a current photo ID with a Hardeman County address. 

4. Emancipated minors may sign up for a card without parent or guardian’s signature by presenting proof of emancipation and photo ID with a Hardeman County address on it.

 5. It is the patron’s responsibility to notify the Library of any changes in address or phone number as soon as the change is made. 

6. In special circumstances, use of a library card by someone other than the cardholder is acceptable with the permission of the staff. Staff may verify permission by phone and will note this permission in the patron’s record. To revoke this authorization, the cardholder should contact the Library via email, phone or in person.


1. Library materials are lent to borrowers as follow: 

    a. Books, audiobooks, magazines – 2 weeks 

    b. Videos and DVD – 2 days

2. Reference materials – typically do not circulate; however, the Librarian may make an   exception if circumstances warrant.

3. The Library reserves the right to limit the number of items that may be borrowed.

    a. Books, Audiobooks magazines are limited to 5 per household. 

    b. DVDs are limited to 2 per household. 

    c. Patrons may borrow a total of 7 items. 

Donate through the Amazon Smiles Program

Amazon does not charge anything for this service. You can donate money or books to the library.  Your contribution today helps us make a difference.

Pay with PayPal or a debit/credit card

Donate with Paypal

There is a slight charge with Paypal. 

Pay with PayPal or a debit/credit card

About Us

Library Board of Directors


Board of Directors 2020

Ronald Ingram, President

David Smith, Vice President

Mary Ann Naylor, Treasurer

Cathy Dickerson

Ellen London

Becky Barker

Carrie Dodson

Janie Ragan

Brenda Tabor

Shane Lance

This is a Governance Board whose members are the fiduciaries that steer the organization towards a sustainable future by adopting sound, ethical, and legal governance and financial management policies, as well as by making sure this nonprofit has the adequate resources to advance our mission.


Janice Davis, Director

Nell Looper, Librarian

Contact Us

Thompson Sawyer Library

403 West 3rd Street, Quanah, TX 79252, US

(940) 663-2654


Open today

09:30 am – 05:30 pm

Closed for lunch 11:30 - 12:30 on Tuesday and Wednesday

Directors email